About Us


Founded in 1959, Jewish Historical Society of Michigan is committed to preserving and sharing Michigan's remarkable Jewish history, to inspire history enthusiasts of all ages.  Our customizable, award-winning bus tours bring the past to tantalizing life.  Our Jewish History Curriculum engages tweens and teens in the study of their forebears, drawing out both the uniqueness of the past and its important continuities with the present.  Our Speakers' Bureau presentations, given by our extraordinary league of volunteers, bring "armchair tours" of historic Jewish Detroit, Michigan's cemeteries and synagogues, and Michigan Women Who Made a Difference to groups throughout the state.  Our publications, including Michigan Jewish History and the MJH Bulletin, document our history for this generation and those to come.  Our innovative programming and exciting collaborations, like "The Henry Ford... THROUGH A JEWISH LENS," bring the past and present into fascinating dialogue.  In all that we do, we affirm that Michigan's Jewish history is for everyone. 


About our Executive Director

Catherine Cangany, PhD is a scholar of colonial and early federal Michigan.  Prior to joining JHSM, she was a tenured associate professor of history at the University of Notre Dame.  She has received fellowships through the American Council of Learned Societies, the John Carter Brown Library, the Massachusetts Historical Society, the Center for French Colonial Studies, the Institut Français d’Amérique, and the Library Company of Philadelphia.  She received her doctorate in colonial North American / Atlantic world history from the University of Michigan.  She holds BA's in English, history, and classical civilization from Indiana University.  She is the author of Frontier Seaport: Detroit's Transformation into an Atlantic Entrepôt (University of Chicago Press, 2014).



  • Jeannie Weiner, President
  • Barbara Cohn, Vice President
  • Suzanne Curtis, Vice President
  • Michael J. Kasky, Vice President
  • Ken Bernard, Treasurer
  • Margery Jablin, Secretary
  • Risha B. Ring, Immediate Past President

Board of Directors

  • Deede Auster
  • Roz Blanck
  • Larry Gunsberg
  • Sue Kalisky
  • Hon. Susan Moiseev
  • Susan Rollinger
  • Martin Shichtman, PhD
  • Stacey Simmons
  • Michael G. Smith
  • Joel Ungar
  • Trudy Levine Weiss


JHSM Past Presidents

  • 1959 – 1961 Allen E. Warsen*
  • 1961 – 1963 Irving I. Katz*
  • 1963 – 1964 Emanuel Applebaum*
  • 1964 – 1973 Dr. Irving I. Edgar*
  • 1973 – 1975 Dr. A.S. Rogoff*
  • 1975 – 1977 Dr. Henry Green*
  • 1977 – 1979 Doris Easton*
  • 1979 – 1981 Jeffrey N. Borin
  • 1981 – 1983 Phillip Applebaum
  • 1983 – 1984 Bette A. Roth Young
  • 1984 – 1987 Stanley N. Meretsky
  • 1986 – 1988 Evelyn Noveck*
  • 1988 – 1990 Adele W. Staller*
  • 1990 – 1993 Gilbert Borman
  • 1993 – 1997 Judith Levin Cantor*
  • 1997 – 2001 James D. Grey
  • 2001 – 2002 Joan R. Braun*
  • 2002 – 2005 Robert D. Kaplow
  • 2005 – 2009 Ellen S. Cole*
  • 2008 – 2012 Arnold S. Collens
  • 2012 – 2014 Gerald S. Cook
  • 2014 – 2016 Michael W. Maddin
  • 2016 – 2018 Neil Gorosh
  • 2018 – 2022 Risha B. Ring, PhD

* of Blessed Memory

JHSM Advisory Board

  • Dr. Constance G. Arnold
  • Fred Cislo, Jr.
  • Irwin J. Cohen
  • Ann J. Conrad
  • Cathy Deutchman
  • Charles "Chuck" Domstein
  • Charlotte Dubin
  • Ben Falik
  • Margaret "Peg" Tracy-Finkelstein
  • Dennis Frank
  • Jules Goldman
  • Karla Goldman, PhD
  • Dr. Paul Goodman
  • Elayne Gross
  • Hon. Gilda Jacob
  • Cillia Kleiman
  • Myrle Leland
  • Hannan Lis
  • Rabbi Asher Lopatin
  • Howard Lupovitch, PhD
  • Rachel Manela
  • Marc D. Manson
  • Rabbi Mark Miller
  • Allan Nachman
  • Gabe Neistein
  • Margi Opperer
  • David Otis
  • Edie L. Resnick
  • Sharona Shapiro
  • Harriet Siden
  • Sidney Simon
  • Mike Skinner
  • Robert Sklar
  • Janice Sobel
  • Carol Weisfeld, PhD
  • Sam Woll
  • Rabbi Herbert Yoskowitz
  • Mary Lou Zieve

Meet the Team

Jeannie Weiner

Jeannie Weiner


Catherine Cangany, PhD

Catherine Cangany, PhD

Executive Director

Hilary Joy Duberstein, MM

Hilary Joy Duberstein, MM

Program Director

Tracy Weissman, JD

Tracy Weissman, JD

Education Director and Managing Editor

Judy Sofferin

Judy Sofferin

Office Manager and Bookkeeper


Get In Touch



Business Hours

Monday - Friday
10am - 3pm

Mailing Address

Jewish Historical Society of Michigan
33228 West 12 Mile Rd., #349
Farmington Hills, MI 48334

Contact Us

Become a JHSM Volunteer

We invite you to join JHSM on our journey as we grow and continue to explore new avenues and pathways. We need volunteers who like to work with people and who want to join our tour program as docents or navigators. We need volunteers who are skilled writers and editors who want to work with us on our fantastic journal, Michigan Jewish History.

Become a JHSM Volunteer

Leonard N. Simons History Award

This award honors an individual who has made outstanding contributions to Jewish Historical Society’s mission and to the larger Michigan community. This award honors Mr. Simons’ desire to ensure that the Jewish community of Detroit would retain a sense of pride in knowing who they are and where they came from.

Learn More

Support the Michigan Women Who Made a Difference Project

Jewish Historical Society of Michigan's Michigan Women Who Made a Difference project seeks to revive, discover and share the names of our community foremothers. Your gift to the MWWMD Fund will help us further our research and documentation.


back to top